For All Eyes To See

Audience is important. So you would think it would be a major aspect for me. It isn’t. It never has been. I’m not trying to say that I don’t care about my audience, because I do. It’s just that I’ve never considered who I was specifically writing to or for. In my mind whoever read my work, that is who my audience included. I’ve been writing since I was in middle school and never once did the question of who my audience was come to mind.

Whenever I sit down to write, it’s at the point of when I have what I think it going to make a great story. The characters can be anywhere from adults to kids. As long as the idea, characters, and story excite me beyond reason that I’m compelled to write it, then I do. Audience comes later. Of course that means I have a hard time trying to figure out exactly how to specify my book. It seems to me that’s one of the main reasons for defining an audience, is to classify the book.

I don’t really think about audience until after I’ve finished a project. Even in the future projects I have ideas for, audience is not something that I’m concerned about. The reason is because I don’t like to narrow down the audience. All eyes are welcome. Of course I’m not saying that some of my work is suitable for children because it’s not, so in that respect obviously I’m talking about age appropriate material. Outside of age appropriateness is what I’m talking about.

I do understand for marketing and publishing purposes that audience needs to be defined, which is the other reason for defining audience. That’s fine. I really have no issues with that. The book has got to be placed somewhere on the shelf. I’m just saying for my writing style, my intent is not to write with any particular audience in mind. It’s always been to write the best possible characters and their stories for the readers that gravitate towards my work. Those readers, whether occasional or regular, they are my audience.  But let me be clear, I love my audience. Thanks guys! 🙂

Leave a Reply

